Iditarod Insider-Opinions Please

This is a forum for general discussion of dogsled racing, with a special focus on Alaska, and is open to all. It is expected that this area will see the most activity during the months leading up to, and during the annual Iditarod sled dog race. Pictures from races can be posted here. Hosting is provided by the Bering Strait School District (BSSD), and the area is open all year. Care to be one of our volunteer moderators? Contact us!

Moderators: fladogfan, libby the lab, mira, mamamia, sc-race-fan

Iditarod Insider-Opinions Please

Postby CynCyn37 » Wed Feb 27, 2008 6:10 pm

I am new to following the Iditarod. I need your opitnions.

Do any of you subscribe to the Insider? Is it worth it?

thanks in advance,
Cyn
CynCyn37

Skype ID: CynCyn37

Re: Iditarod Insider-Opinions Please

Postby dilli » Wed Feb 27, 2008 6:20 pm

If you have a broadband connection, you would probably enjoy the II content.

If you have a dial up connection, be aware you will not be able to view the live stream start, restart and finish.

You will be able to download and view archived files from those 3 events after they have passed and II puts them up on the site .. the archived live streamed videos files that are or are over an hour took my dial up over 9 hours to download in order to watch them without buffering hiccups.
Daily videos are far less painful to download and view.

Also, and I am not sure how long II will continue to make this special offer to II resubscribers, but for the past two years they have offered us a free dvd of the previous year's Irod (example: earlier this year, II offered resubscribers the 2007 dvd) .. no shipping charges .. they said the free dvd would be shipped within two weeks of resubscribing, but it actually tiook them longer than that to ship mine. No biggie.
Last edited by dilli on Wed Feb 27, 2008 6:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.
We've got treats
dilli

Postby mamamia » Wed Feb 27, 2008 6:24 pm