Accident i Femundlopet

This is a forum for general discussion of dogsled racing, with a special focus on Alaska, and is open to all. It is expected that this area will see the most activity during the months leading up to, and during the annual Iditarod sled dog race. Pictures from races can be posted here. Hosting is provided by the Bering Strait School District (BSSD), and the area is open all year. Care to be one of our volunteer moderators? Contact us!

Moderators: fladogfan, libby the lab, mira, mamamia, sc-race-fan

Accident i Femundlopet

Postby tilstede2 » Sun Feb 03, 2008 1:11 am

Referrring to the collision yesterday between a dog team and a car, the race marshall has published an article about the accident.
(For new readers -two of 8 dogs were hurt, but the injuries are not fatal.)

I will start translating the article now. Its quite long, and I am a slow translator, so be patient.

I find the article very interesting and very good, from a PR-professional viewpoint.
tilstede2

Re: Accident i Femundlopet

Postby tilstede2 » Sun Feb 03, 2008 2:02 am

The dog team accident

A dog team was hit by a car saturday

Saturday appr. at 12:30 pm bib no 116 Øyvind Nordahl Naess and his dogs were hit by a car. This happened just after leaving checkpoint Femundsvika. Naess had 8 dogs in his team when he started on the leg. The accident happened while the team was crossing a road.

As the race marshall for F400 and on behalf of the arrangement organisation I am very sorry for the accident. It is very sad that incidents like this happens. Both the arrangement organisation, participants and audience feel sorry and give their thought to the musher and others involved.
We critizize ourselves for not checking the warning signs during the the day, especially since the weather was quite extreme during the morning hours saturday.